The Search

The Search are back with their 6 CD download compilation “The Silverslut 2000-2002”

It’s been pretty silent about the swedish Indie-Rocker from THE SEARCH for a long time. After their successful album “Saturnine Songs” in 2008, first gigs in Germany and some changes in the band’s line-up now the sympathic guys from tranquil Uppsala come up with a 6-CD-download-compilation “The Silverslut 2000-2002”.

From 2000 until 2002 THE SEARCH – formerly known as SILVERSLUT – recorded 6 EPs and autonomously published them in small numbers. The first two EPs “The Silverslut” (2000) and “Arctic Cold Days” (2000) actually contain some songs sung in Swedish. Both EPs radiate the charm of early recordings, which reveals the bands first steps with charming naivity.

The third EP “Friday Saturday” from the same year already gave a hint what enormous progess the band has made within short time. This EP was a very consistent one and kept a golden thread. With “Travoltol” (2001) the band succeeded in holding their stride and so the entire EP evolves around nothing but sex.

On “Dancing In The Winter Sky” (2002) the guys radically broke with the mould of their previous sound and created all songs on the bass guitar. In this way their sounds became less organic but the beats got more rhythmical. Even with their last EP under the name SILVERSLUT – “Cosmetic Rock” (2002) – the band stayed true to these principles.

Although the band renamed itself THE SEARCH in 2003, those 6 EPs always were regarded as the first publications of the band and were available as free downloads from only for a long time. Since this compilation contains some of the bands classic favourites – such as “Quash”, a song about love, hornyness, despair and cowardness, “Juno”, a very great song named after Tinas (the keyboarder at that time) synthesiser, “Me And Ritva And Some Cheap Scotch” or “Chloë” – mastermind Razmig decided to release the entire collection as an official download-compilation in order to bridge the gap until autumn, when THE SEARCHs new album will be published.

The download of the 6-EP-compilation is going to be available starting 28th of June 2011 on all known download-stores and on afmusic.

More infos…